Welch Island is 210 acres and sits in the middle of the broads. Until the 1860's it had several different names like Moulton's Island, Fishers Island, and Thompson's Great Island. In the early 1800's this island was used for timbering. George Washington Leavitt, a farmer, brought his sheep to pasture on the island during the summer. When the lake froze over he would lead them back to the mainland. There still remains evidence of an old stone wall and a barbed wire fence, artifacts from the sheep herding days.*
The first two summer camps were built in 1906. By 1919 there were six more camps but only three were added in the next thirty years. On the northern point of the island, the Luce family built an estate in 1914. The camp sat on 30 acres and was worthy of the Adirondak Great Camps then being built by wealthy inustrialists in New York State.*
At the end of the 1930s, five families formed the Welch Island Association and purchased the island's large cove. The property was expanded by the Winter Harbor Yacht Club in 1948 and it is still in existance today. *
Welch Island now boasts sixty five camps, one estate, a yacht club, a tennis court,& a beautiful vegetable and flower garden, and several well marked hiking trails.
News & Events APR 25th
Sailing School In Smith Cove Gets Ready For 31st Summer Season
Read the full article about the Lake Winnipesaukee Sailing Association (LWSA) by clickimg below.
Sailing School Begins 31st Season
To find out about or sign up for the Lake Winnipesaukee Saiiling Association Summer classes Click here to go to their website.
NH Lakes News