St. John's-on-the-Lake Chapel
St. John's-on-the-Lake is located on Bear Island and was founded in 1927 as a summer chapel. Under the management of the St. John's-on-the-Lake Association, summer worship services are organized to meet the needs of Winnipesaukee island residents.
Regardless of your religious affiliation at home, St. John's-on-the-Lake welcomes those of all faiths. It is also available by reservation for private services and has been the site for numerous island baptisms, weddings and memorial services.
The chapel is located at the largest elevation of Lake Winnipesaukee's Bear Island. It can be reached by a marked trail (approximately 1000 feet) that leads from the church docks in Deep Cove on Bear Island's west side. Services are held at 10:00 am Sunday mornings during the summer season. In 2017, the Chapel's first service will begin on June 25 with the final service of the summer scheduled for August 27. Services begin at 10:00 AM. Click here to view the whole summer schedule
Help in locating the church dock can be found at:
Sunday dress is casual and sneakers or sturdy shoes are highly suggested due to the moderately elevated trail walk to the chapel.
A unique feature of Sunday services at St. John's is that well behaved dogs are always welcome.
Additional information about St. John's-on-the-Lake can be found at:
NH Lakes News